John Legend Becomes First Black Man To Earn An EGOT

John Legend
Photo taken from EW

On Sunday night, John Legend joined Andrew Lloyd Weber and Tim Rice on becoming the latest EGOT winners. EGOT, standing for Emmy, Grammy, Oscar, and Tony Awards, is the acronym used for those who have won all four of the entertainment industry’s most illustrious awards.

The list of EGOT winners has now hit 15 but John Legend is only one of two black people on that list (Whoopi Goldberg was the first black EGOT winner in 2002) and the only black male.

Barriers continue to be broken and we could not be happier! Congratulations to John Legend!!

No Comments Yet

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.